My first ‘hairy’ experience

Relief for the readers: This is not a gross post about hairy armpits or anything of that sort. Its about my first hair colouring experience.

I always wanted to get my hair streaked burgundy but obviously couldn’t because of the age issues and all.
The ones following my blog must be knowing about Shruti di, my cousin. She wanted to get her hair washed from the salon as her optician had advised her not to let water get into her eyes for some time. So she had her appointment fixed for the evening and decided to pick me up after class for another outing. We all went to south ex and had lunch and gol gappas and went to Gurgaon. We took a power nap there and dad asked me if i wanted anything done to my hair. I wasn’t so sure then so he gave me some money in case I wished for anything and kept sleeping. We went for the appointment and I asked my bua if I should get my hair streaked. We talked about it and decided to go for it in the salon. We talked to the receptionist who set up a stylist for me and asked him to talk to me about the whole process in detail since I had ‘virgin hair’. We both talked to the stylist and then it hit me. I hadn’t talked to either of my parents about it. So i texted mom if i could go for it. I got a straight no for a reply. So I called her up and tried convincing her till she gave up with an irritated ‘jo karna hai karo’. I was quite happy as bua had talked to dad and he was fine with it. I chose a darker colour, chestnut to be exact because I didnt want it to stand out too much. The stylist wasn’t too sure about it because he said that the colour was too dark to be used for streaking my hair but I asked him to do it. He had recommended burgundy or light brown according to my complexion.
Now the colour blind ones out there, here’s the difference between chestnut and burgundy: chestnut is like auburn, darker than burgundy whereas burgundy is more towards the red side.
After waiting for about 45 minutes on the chair, reading a magazine and texting a few friends about it, i got my hair washed and blow dried. They turned out pretty good. The colour wasn’t too striking and the streaked hair were scanty. It was good for starters. They aren’t noticeable indoors btw.image

Everyone else was happy about it as well. I went back home and showed it to dad who liked them as well. I went back home the next day and showed it to mom. She surprising liked it as well. Most probably because they dont stand out much. But thats okay. I like it that way.

P.S. DO NOT talk about it with your parents at the last moment like I did. It is highly risky. If the job doesnt turn out good according to them, you can expect yourself to be in a shit load of trouble.
You must keep in mind that these colours are long lasting and you either have to chop them off or grow the coloured hair out if you want to get rid of them. So tread with caution. You’ll end up with a lot of regret otherwise.
Also, DO NOT go for it with friends and do not tell your parents that you want it because they have it as well. You MUST have atleast one elder family member with you for getting your back and helping you out with it.

4 thoughts on “My first ‘hairy’ experience

  1. I reckon this is your first ‘solid’ post in the blog, if you know what I mean. Hats off !
    And I reckon your hair ain’t ‘virgin’ anymore; this calls for celebration. Meanwhile you look much cooler than you did earlier. Should I expect more posts like this from now on ? Coz its the coolest post here.

    • Thanks!
      And I cant guarantee you cooler posts but I can assure you that you will come across good stuff like this once in a while. My life isnt that interesting, you know. And the things which are interesting aren’t appropriate for posting. (ask aneesh)
      But anyways, I’m glad that you liked this one. I’ll be trying to keep up with your’s and some other people’s expectations (I believe we can never run out of those)

  2. I guess so. Its good when people are expecting good stuff from you; but it becomes a hell lot stressful if lakhs of people are expecting good stuff from you. Thats why I never became a cricketer. I wasn’t one anyway. All I ever loved is volleyball. Nothing else.

Leave a comment. Go on, don't be shy!

