Walls

Sitting in the class
the teacher blabbering away
I’m lost in my own world
My mind’s not gonna stay
I look out of the window
I see the children play
the grass is green down there
and the clouds above are grey

Staring at the corner
Relaxing on the last bench
My mind’s taking off
As I tolerate my partner’s stench

I see the boys’ hostel
And the clothes on the line
Spending days and nights with friends
A life that was never mine

A pigeon cooing
On a branch of the nearby tree
My heart flutters in my chest
I wish this period was free

Feeling rather helpless
I’m bound by these four walls
Keep staring outside the window
As I ignore my friend’s calls

The bell has rung
The teacher ain’t here
But another one walks in
God, this is hard to bear!

I put my head down
As I prepare to sleep
The lecture starts again
And it’s time to count sheep

P.S. Its an old poem 😛

4 thoughts on “Walls

    • I’m glad you liked it 🙂
      Well, we as children, love to label anything boring by an elder as a lecture and we love being taken as adults. That ought to explain the last stanza.
      Thanks for reading!

  1. I can understand the poem easily 😀 Been there, sitting at the last bench and staring out the window and thinking of other things than the teacher’s droning voice. Written a few poems that way too 😉 Quite beautiful.

Leave a comment. Go on, don't be shy!

