My first blood donation

“It’s been more that half a year since I’ve turned 18 and I haven’t donated blood yet.” was what I had been thinking for the past few months. So when I got a mail informing students about the blood donation camp at my university, I saw my window of opportunity. Surprisingly, my B.C. class got cancelled and I was free by 10 for the rest of the day. So I went to the venue with a couple of friends for ‘moral support’ for my first blood donation. I filled the form, got my finger pricked to check my haemoglobin and blood pressure after which I got my card.
I lay down as Pratibha held my hand (yeah, I’m a wuss when it comes to pricking or injections) and I looked towards Rohan for some distraction and these guys started talking to distract me as the needle was ‘inserted’ in my right arm and man, it looked somewhat scary.

But heck, when I got out of that room, I felt awesome. Just the fact that my blood might just save someone and I did something good for a change made my day. And after that, I encouraged my friends to join me and some of them did.

Of course, I bragged about it too. 😛

Now coming to the facts which might urge you to go ahead and donate some blood:

Health Benefits of Blood Donation: 

Blood donation benefits extend beyond those who receive life-giving blood. Donors also receive numerous health benefits. Blood donation benefits to donors include:

  • Free health screening: Every time you give blood, a medical technician, doctor or nurse will check your blood pressure and give you a free health screening.
  • Reduced risk of heart disease: Some doctors and scientists believe that giving blood may prevent heart disease. Although no conclusive evidence is available, numerous physicians have noted that blood donors typically have fewer cases of heart disease than non-donors. Dr. Harvey Klein, in an article on USA Today, speculates that giving blood regularly reduces the amount of iron in the bloodstream. While iron is an important element and necessary for human life, too much iron may actually damage the heart and circulatory system. Dr. Klein and others believe that reducing blood iron through regular blood donation is a healthy way to potentially lower your risk of heart disease.
  • Acts of altruism make you feel good! Giving feels great, especially when you understand that one hour of your time and one pint of blood can save so many people.
  • Blood Donation giving the wonderful feeling of saving someone’s life.
  • One can diet or stay fit by donating blood regularly. One pint of blood (450 ml) when donated burns 650 calories in donor’s body.
  • After donating blood, the count of blood cells decreases in our body, which stimulates the bone marrow to produce new red blood cells in order to replenish the loss. So, it stimulates the production of new blood cells and refreshes the system.
  • Regular blood donation helps especially males in loosing iron on regular basis. It helps in reducing the chance of heart attack to one third.

P.S. It also gives you bragging rights. 😛

Source: http://forum.xcitefun.net/benefits-of-blood-donation-be-the-life-saver-t57483.html

6 thoughts on “My first blood donation

  1. I suffered from blood posioning as young child and it is all sorted now and I really want to give blood. I have got in touch with the relevant people here in England to ask if it is ok for me to do this a number of times yet I have never been given a straight answer. I have emailed several times and called and text them too. I wish I could help someone this way but sadly I don’t think it will ever happen.

  2. We at Give Blood UNSW love the idea of young people getting in the habit of donating blood, keeping blood supplies up! We’re a student initiated campaign encouraging that exact thing and just wanted to congratulate you on your great initiative when it comes to donating blood! Congratulations!
    Rubie Dickson
    givebloodunsw.wordpress.com

Leave a comment. Go on, don't be shy!

