T2T: Trip to Toronto 2013 – The Race Day

Day 4, Sunday: The Race Day – “Recharge with Milk” Triathlon series at Welland, Ontario.

Woke up at 4am as usual. Finally pooped (yay + ouch) and got late anyway. So I changed my shorts and got ready to leave. We took quite some time to reach Welland and finally arrived at the venue around 8:30am. Parichit bhaiya got himself registered for the Bike-run race and Garima di decided to train instead. While he was warming up for the race, me and garima di went near the lake where the swimming race was taking place. It was amazing to see so many heads in the water 😛IMG_0804

So many swimmers!

So many swimmers!

We headed back to the transition area where the swimmers started running after their swim to get their bikes. It was hot even though the wind was cold. Unfortunately, one of the cycles’ tires burst at the transition area which was a pity. But the race crew was there to help. I also hear a woman complain to a friend about a woman behind her during the swim who pushed her back while swimming because the swimmers were too close to each other in the beginning (as seen in the pic above). Anyways, Sunny bhaiya started with his race and I clicked away.

V for Victory!

V for Victory!

Ready? Get set...

Ready? Get set…

GO!!

GO!!

Whrrrrrr.....

Whrrrrrr…..

and Garima di took off for her training after the participants left, leaving me at my state to kill the next 3.5 hours roaming around and clicking stuff. Which is what I eventually did.IMG_0871 IMG_0873

Random guys playing near the canal

Random guys playing near the canal

IMG_0904 IMG_0975 IMG_0980IMG_1021 IMG_1236 IMG_1214 IMG_1195

This one seemed to be staring at me for a while...

This one seemed to be staring at me for a while…

...so I ran when it decided to swoop above my head.

…so I ran when it decided to swoop above my head.

IMG_1022

Then I felt sleepy but couldn’t sleep on the grass (too ticklish, made me itch all over) so had to sleep on the bench kept out in the sun. Thankfully, the wind was cold….

Zzzzzz….

And then suddenly I heard people clapping so I got up and saw runners coming up on the course. I got ready with my camera for Shani Bhaiya who came a bit later…I cheered for him when he came…
IMG_1304
But instead of smiling and waving at me (as I had imagined), he decided to throw a glove at me and told me to keep it in the bag. :/

Hey! Take care of the glove!

Hey! Take care of the glove!

And off he went...

And off he went…

IMG_1308

So anyway, I met Garima di later and we decided to go the canal and swim. Since the water was cold and I didn’t have a wetsuit (which she did) so I just dipped my feet while she swam there.

Such an adorable dog!

Such an adorable dog!

Happy feet!

Happy feet!

Paddle and push!!!

Paddle and push!!!

IMG_1339 IMG_1365

Then I spot Shani bhaiya during his second lap and then we met him later after the race. Guess who won??

Shani bhaiya wins! This medal's not the actual one though.

Shani bhaiya wins!
This medal’s not the actual one though.

And we spotted a dog called 'pepper' who resembles my old dog, Andy...

And we spotted a dog called ‘pepper’ who resembles my old dog, Andy…

The winners pose...

The winners pose…

The winner deserves a massage :)

The winner deserves a massage 🙂

And we drove back home after having some hamburgers and some tasty chocolate milk  🙂

Leave a comment. Go on, don't be shy!

