Life of an architecture student

Ever been in the situation when an aunty comes up and asks you the mood making or breaking question, “Beta tum kya kar rahe ho?” And your mum happily cuts in saying something like, “Yeh architect kar rahi hai.” Translate it literally to English and you’ll get “She’s doing an architect”. Β Or the vice versa. “Yeh architecture banne vali hai.” Β WTF.

Image

Okay, I might be slightly obsessed with the idea but heck, some respect please!! Then comes the highly annoying Ted Mosby illusion. That guy just looks too healthy and happy to be an architect! And the biggest irony – He’s got time to actually look for stuff like love! We expect to find it somewhere hidden in our models. I fell for my final design project from last sem. Haven’t moved on since. I hear ‘tujhme rab dikhta hai’ from Rab ne bana di jodi when I look at it πŸ˜› Now that is true love

.Image

And I remember how some people were trying to fit in cantilevers…Cmon, we don’t know how to work that shit, yet.Β Image

And we spent so much time on our models, that we couldn’t complete the sheets…I was short of elevations. But at least my model turned out nice. See? The Dream House ProjectΒ and the night before the jury went something like this:

Image

Best part: the professors are no less.

15108302

See my point?

Sometimes I get scared that I’ll vent my frustration in not so constructive ways later on, which hopefully will be as funny as what this guy has done.

That was one perverted guy.

That was one perverted guy.

He was probably getting nostalgic.

And why? Yes I’ve stated this many times, but I’ll tell you again.

  1. I don’t get time to sleep. In fact, our dean says that you’re probably doing something wrong if you’re able to get more that 4 hours of sleep per day.

    But you know that already...

    But you know that already…

  2. I go around collecting junk like bottle caps, straws, and even shoe boxes that people throw away cus they could be a good piece to add to my ‘future, not even planned’ model.

    See what he did there?

    See what he did there?

  3. Flirting? That ended in high school. Bhool jao love life. Ab hona hai toh ho jayega, nahi toh model mein pyaar dhundo.Β (Forget love life. It’ll happen if it has to, or else find your pleasure in models) πŸ˜›

    Sighhh...

    Sighhh…

  4. Even my professors admit to it: Architects are overworked and underpaid. I’ll be studying for 5 years (one year internship) to get a license and if I actually want to take it up a notch, I’ll be investing at least 2 more years for masters. That means 7 years for a job that won’t even make me rich.

    See my point?

    See my point?

  5. Besides, if truck drivers (Tadao Ando) can become amazing architects without actually screwing their lives attending college, then why us?Β tumblr_m5sgd8n6eP1r47mhro1_400

 

Okay okay, before you give me the eye rolls after reading this stuff, I admit:

There may be some truth to it :P

There may be some truth to it πŸ˜›

 

But heck, I still love what I do. So let’s sum it up, you might’ve seen memes like these floating around a lot on the internet these days, so I caught hold of one too.

There you go, designing commodes

There you go, designing commodes

 

And if you got the time, do check out this video. I believe architecture students and professionals will appreciate it a lot more than our sane folks.

12 thoughts on “Life of an architecture student

  1. bwhahahaha!!! Pichiii, I haven’t laughed so much after ‘reading’, lately! And yes, architects don’t get the name or money they deserve! I was praising architects in my post ‘Visiting Foreign Lands and Fairy Lands’, I was thinking about you then and how you are frustrated about all of this you usually say!

  2. This is the 1st post on architecture i’ve reading.. and swear being an architecture student is not a task.. its like someone dancing on our bellies with full pressure.. kudos. for the post πŸ™‚

  3. When we were in college we thought the Delhi School of Architecture was the coolest place to be. So much creativity, and a truly hedonsitic life style. DU by comparison was Wahabi Afghanistan. Most of my architect friends turned out all right in the end. So dont fret. Too much. Another thinig, all the Archi girls were always pretty, guess that tradition srtill continues….

    • Yeah the campus looks cool, at least the architecture block does. And the lifestyle is not so awesome. But then, it’s Gurgaon. Can’t do much bout it. :/
      But hey, thanks for visiting the blog! πŸ™‚

  4. Despite whatever you say, still the Burj Khalifa, the Bird’s Nest, the Petronas Towers, the Taipei 101 and all those structures were drafted by architects. So cheers to that ! πŸ˜€

  5. Randomly came across this for that Obama meme, stayed for everything else! Hilarious and so on point! I’m also a desi architect and our moms sound like the same person πŸ™‚

Leave a comment. Go on, don't be shy!

