Weight loss experiment number ‘something’: Yog

I bet almost everyone knows about my struggle with myself to lose weight. Garima di of course pushed me and helped me lose some in Toronto, but here I am, a month later, back to my original shape. And dad is back on his teasing spree – with his kashmir to kanyakumari joke  :/

So when I started cribbing about my weight again, a few of my friends got sick of it and told me to try ‘yoga’. I asked for some help and one of them even sent me a link. So today after a week of avoiding and making excuses, I finally decided to give it a shot and I realized that I was panting after 4 minutes. Damn it.

After doing one ‘suryanamaskar‘, I took a small break and thought of getting back to my power point presentation which I had to mail by 12 am. But then I got distracted (which is no big deal for me, seriously).

Yoga, as we call it today is actually supposed to be pronounced as ‘Yog’ and  written in English as ‘Yoga’. Being an Indian, saying that you’re doing Yoga is like saying that the Mahabharataaa or the Ramayanaaa is my favourite piece of literature. The West pretty much sold East’s own stuff to it. Yog has become more of a raging trend rather than a device to increase one’s spiritual intelligence amongst other things.

 In Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism the word yoga means “spiritual discipline”. People often associate yoga with the postures and stances that make up the physical activity of the exercise, but after closer inspection it becomes clear that there are many more aspects of yoga.

It is known that yoga originated from the East. The earliest signs of yoga appear in ancient Shamanism. Evidence of yoga postures were found on artifacts that date back to 3000 B.C. Evidence of yoga is found in the oldest-existing text, Rig-Veda. Rig-Veda is a composition of hymns. Topics of the Rig-Veda include prayer, divine harmony, and greater being.

The Internet is one huge world. I realized this again when I came across this link which shocked me: The Spiritual Deception of Yoga – Christian Assemblies International

But then they’re Christians. And that is not supposed to be interpreted in an offensive manner. I have nothing against the community.

Source (quoted text): Yoga – the art of meditation, breathing, relaxation and spirituality

2 thoughts on “Weight loss experiment number ‘something’: Yog

  1. The CAI article is misleading and I think it is just false propaganda. Aur koi kaam nahi mila in logon ko. Morons ! They should do the world a favor and get settled on Mars, all the religious fanatics.

    Nice post though. Post some more 🙂

Leave a comment. Go on, don't be shy!

