Give me a break, please?

It’s officially a pattern now: I disappear for months and come back with an apology, but this time, I’m not even going to bother. So let’s roll. But if you’re still wondering why I’m back after all this while, I’ll be honest: my exams are here, and I should be working. But I’m too tired now sitting in front of autoCAD the entire day, so here I am.
Looking back, it’s been a long while since I started writing. A third year (hopefully graduating to fourth year) architecture student, started in the campus hostel, to living in a PG. Wow. I actually doubted if I could make it till here. Sometimes, I get emotional dilemmas when I think and I recall my family warning me that architecture is a tough course, probably harder than most branches of engineering (with all due respect to my family, overflowing with engineers) and knowing the kind of lazy-ass procrastinator I am, they advised me to tread very carefully and take a decision, and God, were they right.

Don’t get me wrong, I love what I do. I may get sore legs, stiff back, and spend sleepless nights on a regular basis. I may even joke around, pretending to regret taking up architecture, when in reality, there probably is no other better place to be (sometimes I mean it though, the hard work required is the culprit). I may not excel in my projects, but that’s mostly my procrastination talking. I don’t think I would’ve lasted an year if I had taken up engineering, or those ‘pure sciences’ kind of subjects (kindly excuse my choice of words. Yes, I know I’m an ignorant kid, thank you.) I realized that it isn’t enough for me: it wasn’t back in 11th grade, and it still isn’t.

It’s tough, no doubt. But then, which course isn’t? Of course there are many courses that offer a degree after 4 years, but who gives a shit? Lonely sadists do 5 year architecture courses that don’t even promise you to be a well paid architect at the end of it all.

True that.

Then there are moments of frustration: my helplessness when I see my parents touring the world without me because I’m not able to take out that time without screwing with my semester, my lack of things to talk about with people not in my field, and lack of hygiene (I’m just referring to my eye-burning messy room. I still bathe) amongst many other things. Then my parents’ demands of being a straight A student. C’mon, cut me some slack please? It’s not school anymore. Not saying that I was a ‘topper’ in school, but let’s not go there now.

Just explains it

And how can I forget the people who complain or boasting about pulling off an all nighter?

See my point?

And then comes unrealistic expectations of being an architect: Ted Mosby from HIMYM. Seriously, hasn’t anyone seen his lifestyle? architects don’t get to hang out with their non-architect friends every damn evening at a local bar, which is amongst many other things that he does that just seem too good to be true. And apparently, it has a term coined for it too: The Ted Mosby Illusion. I even read about it (Click on the link for enlightenment).

Anyways, I’d better get back to work now. Got a pile of design work to be resolved.

Sighh…..


Image sources:Ā 

https://tradesman4u.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/architects.jpg

http://qph.is.quoracdn.net/main-qimg-48bc66c014a46a9a9869a90aa2ba4873?convert_to_webp=true

http://www.quickmeme.com/img/e6/e6529c9fe45af9e2c3df0cbbe35b9b44e57ef3aee621ec1371f49a5f8f094abe.jpg

2 thoughts on “Give me a break, please?

Leave a comment. Go on, don't be shy!

